A Career in Copywriting

You probably don’t know what you’re doing. If you do, you’ve become boring. Live a little.

So, how does one decide on being a copywriter?

I had it all figured out at the end of high school; my path to success was set. I knew exactly what I was going to do, at the ripe old age of 18. Undergrad, med school, residency, more grad school, residency and paychecks, that was my plan. I was set to be a doctor, more specifically, an anesthesiologist. Luckily, I realized how much I had left to learn about life–I still do and always will. I’m truly enjoying my career path, towards being a copywriter in the ad business. It wasn’t an straight road here, but I’ve finally found what I was built to do. I’m not a marketer or advertiser, I’m a thinker, problem-solver and storyteller. Now that I finally don’t have everything figured out, I’m starting to use both sides of my brain to unravel life as it comes my way.

I wanted to be a lot of things when I was a kid, a lot of distinctly different things. An anesthesiologist as you already know, an architect, biomedical engineer, police officer, weapons analyst at the CIA, the list truly does go on forever. Looking back through the years, through the multitude of perfect careers, one thing has remained. The only thing that I’ve always wanted to do is solve problems. How I was going to solve said problems has been the biggest variable. Pursuing a career as a copywriter is a chance to solve problems for brands, using words. Every campaign, every TV spot and every banner ad is trying to solve a problem, that’s what I’m wired to do. At this point in my career, I’m comfortable saying that I’m a copywriter. This is what I was built to do. (Copy)writing may be a fickle mistress, but I love her just the same.

Leave a Reply

